Apply for the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) CARES Act

Apply for the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) CARES Act

Join the National Endowment for the Arts for a webinar on applying for National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) CARES Act funding.

Wednesday, April 15, 2020
8:00 am HST / 10:00 am AKDT / 11:00 am PDT
12:00 noon MDT / 1:00 pm CDT
2:00 pm EDT

Jen Hughes, the NEA’s Design and Creative Placemaking Director, and Cliff Murphy, the NEA’s Folk and Traditional Arts Director, will present information about the funding that the NEA received through the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, which recognizes that the nonprofit arts industry is an important sector of America’s economy.

The NEA will award funds to nonprofit arts organizations to help them endure the economic hardships caused by the forced closures of their operations due to the spread of COVID-19. As part of this important investment, the NEA has designed a plan to expedite the distribution of critical funds and help retain as many jobs as possible, as quickly as possible.

In order to be eligible for this funding, an organization must have received direct NEA funding in at least one of the past four years (NEA Fiscal Years 2017-2020).

Eligible organizations may only apply for a fixed amount ($50,000) of funding, which can go toward:

  • Salary support, full or partial, for one or more positions that are critical to an organization’s artistic mission.
  • Fees for artists and/or contractual personnel to maintain or expand the period during which such persons would be engaged.
  • Facilities costs such as rent and utilities.

These grants will not require a cost share or match.

To be considered, organizations must submit their Application for Federal Domestic Assistance/Short Organizational Form to grants.gov by Wednesday, April 22, 2020 at 11:59 pm EDT.

Before the webinar, please review the program descriptioneligibility requirementsapplication review, and FAQs available on arts.gov.

If your organization has not received funding from the NEA in the past four years, your organization is not eligible to apply for this CARES Act funding. Your organization may, however, be eligible to apply for the NEA CARES Act funding that is being distributed through the state and regional arts organizations.  Those guidelines and deadlines will be published by each individual arts agency as they are available.

If you would like to join the webinar, please register here.

If you are not able to join live, an archive of the presentation will be posted here.

Write a Comment

Register

Have an account?